PDA

View Full Version : Lost Electrical?

jamezgreen
07-25-2009, 01:35 AM
Hello, newbie here. Had my 250 just a few months have just run into an interesting problem. Noticied today all devices on the left handlebar are dead (headlight, turn signals and horn) What could this be??. Battery seems fine holding 13V. Starts and runs fine, wiring looks good from what I can tell. Is there a fuse somewhere that might have tripped? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.

James

patrick_777
07-25-2009, 01:46 AM
Check all the fuses in the side and under the seat (just pull the box out directly to access them).

jamezgreen
07-25-2009, 02:19 AM
Pulled off the seat and sure enough almost ALL the fuses were blown. I put in the spares turned the key on and...... they popped right away. Bummer. I have a little voltmeter, anyone have tips on what's next? Am I gonna have to go on an ugly hunt for a hidden short somewhere?

James

alantf
07-25-2009, 04:39 AM
Hi there,
Try the obvious first. Go over the cable coming from the left switch, & see if there's any damage. Could be that the cable's been caught. Not saying that it IS the problem, just that it's a starting point. It once happened on a car of mine when the wiring harness got cut through where it passed the radiator, due to friction. :2tup:

Sarris
07-25-2009, 07:01 AM
Check at the steering head on the left side. There is a square metal hoop that retains the wiring harness. It is a notorious chaffing point for the passing wires.

Mine was rubbing through, so I reinforced it with a black loom cover.

:)

Easy Rider
07-25-2009, 09:52 AM
Am I gonna have to go on an ugly hunt for a hidden short somewhere?

Good advice you got already so I'll just say it in a slightly different way.

The three things that are failing likely don't have anything in common EXCEPT at or near the left handle bar. The wires likely share a common sleeve going down to near the steering head and then branch out to the various destinations.