PDA

View Full Version : 6 speeds is it at all possibile to mod?

RamAir
09-12-2009, 12:06 AM
Is there any way to tern our bikes into six speed?

alantf
09-12-2009, 05:07 AM
I understand where you're coming from! I often try to put it into (non-existant) 6th, especially when I'm accelerating onto the autopista, from the slip road.

I'm no mechanic, so I can't give you a definative answer, but I'd imagine that if it WERE possible, it would be a MAJOR job. :??: :)

Sarris
09-12-2009, 07:35 AM
The answer is there no six speed option is available and there no way (or internal space) to put one in.

Trust me, I would have done it years ago if available. I want to do a Baker 6 speed in my HD when $$$ allow.

In my circle of riding buds that extra shift is called a "Ghost Shift"

:biggrin:

RamAir
09-12-2009, 08:27 PM
lol So I "Ghost Shift" a lot. haha

So put in a sport bike with a six speed you say??? lol

New GZ250
09-12-2009, 09:24 PM
I keep looking for that extra gear too, haven't found it yet! Damn shame! Never happened on the bigger bikes I had at one time years ago when I was young. Guess looking for that ghost gear wouldn't happen on an automatic transmission bike. Don't laugh my buddy has a classic Honda 750 automatic bike. Don't know why anyone would want one though? :??:

RamAir
09-12-2009, 10:08 PM
Well I know my buddy that gets on my bike a lot wantce on but whants it auto he thinks it to complicated. I have tought him how to ride mine and he is pretty good (Parking loots only and he has been up to 40kph) so nothing crazy but some ppl just want that. I know what you mean man as long as I have a foot strong enough to shift it shall be manual!!!!

Dupo
09-13-2009, 03:51 AM
That ghost shift is the one that you shift into ... realize you dont have another gear to go into .... so you let off the throttle and get back on it a second time like "you meant to do that" .... lol.

alanmcorcoran
09-13-2009, 04:03 AM