PDA

View Full Version : Heat Shields

clarkperez
11-04-2010, 03:33 AM
Hi guys! newbie here...
this is my first time to join a forum... just want to ask some ideas, opinions, suggestions, etc on what should i put on my new bike for its heat shields. I don't want to feel the heat on my exhaust anymore, it bothers me. I do lots of searching now and I found this site that has a lot of these heat shield stuff but i don't know what should be the right thing to buy.
Should i buy this exhaust pipe heat shields (http://www.jcwhitney.com/motorcycle-heat-shields-and-insulation/c14669j1s17.jcwx), muffler packing, exhaust insulating wrap, or steel wool wraps? Any help is very much appreciated. Thanks!

johnym
11-04-2010, 05:29 AM
Pipe heat shields, muffler packing and the rest works fine. :) I think it will fall on the problem that you are solving. most of them works and it's all up to your own arsenal.

Easy Rider
11-04-2010, 10:30 AM
Should i buy this exhaust pipe , muffler packing, exhaust insulating wrap, or steel wool wraps? Any help is very much appreciated. Thanks!

Before giving any detailed advice, we need to know more......like what is your starting point and why you think you need to do anything. Most of the heat a GZ rider gets is from the engine and not the pipes.

I think you are the first one we have seen to complain about heat from the exhaust.
Do you have the stock pipes and heat shields in place ??

In general, heat shields are good but "muffler packing" is for an entirely different purpose and insulating muffler wraps tend to cook the pipes underneath and make them fail sooner.

alantf
11-04-2010, 11:16 AM
Most of the heat a GZ rider gets is from the engine and not the pipes.

:plus1:

Water Warrior 2
11-05-2010, 01:32 AM