PDA

View Full Version : Help Verifying Sprocket Fit

gzlocal
07-13-2011, 12:22 AM
Hi Guys!

New to the forum. If this is in the wrong spot, Admin feel free to move! Just bought my 2007 black GZ about 2 weeks ago, and I am looking to swap to a 16 tooth sprocket as my first mod. My buddy has a few sprockets laying around his garage. Unfortunately, he is located out of state, and must ship one to me if I want it. So I need a little clarification as I am new to this bike.

1. I know the part numbers for the JT sprocket is 434.16 and I also know the OEM part number. There are no dealers in my area to order from either.
2. The chain is standard 520 correct?

So my buddy has a brand new 16 tooth sprocket from a 2006 GSXR 600, which also has a 520 chain. Since these 16t sprockets are a bit pricey and sometimes hard to find, I was wanting to see if this sprocket would fit, as he will ship it to me for free and save me $30 as opposed to buying one off of Amazon. This is a stock 16t.

So my question is, will it fit? Common thinking would suggest so, since the chain is the same size, so all that leaves is the thickness of the sprocket. Does anyone know if the sprockets used on these bikes were interchangable, or at the very least will fit correctly?

Thanks ahead of time, I'm already loving the material on this forum!

cayuse
07-13-2011, 12:55 AM
The sprocket will have to fit the splined drive shaft, too. Get your buddy to measure the diameter of the spline hole in the middle of the sprocket, and count the spline teeth. Then you can compare that to your own measurements. He can also tell you the thickness of his sprocket.
Good luck!

blaine
07-13-2011, 06:56 AM