PDA

View Full Version : No Center stand!!!

rbert16000
06-04-2008, 04:43 PM
How do you folks get the bike safely up on a stand to remove the rear tire?

I am not hip to the trick I see here so far, as they dont sound safe... I am not a mechanic... So..
1) are there any makes or types of MC stands or Jacks i can buy?
2) please help! Got my first flat in 400 miles.
Rick

Easy Rider
06-04-2008, 05:38 PM
I am not a mechanic... So..

Yes, stands are available. Alas, because of the placement of the pipes, it doesn't work very good on the GZ..........and rear axle stands aren't worth a crap for removing the rear wheel! :cry:

If you have never changed a MC tire with a tube before...........you should think long and hard before you attempt it.

Yes, it is not really THAT hard.......for someone who has a little mechanical savy AND a lot of patience.
Lacking either of those, you probably should let someone else do it. :tup:

I've about decided to get a heavy tow strap and pick it up with the bucket on my tractor...........but not everybody has that option.

turbo chicken
06-04-2008, 07:30 PM
i just put it on the kick stand and used my car jack on the little tabs on the underneath back of the frame... there's a pic somwhere on the board that show this tab...

Water Warrior 2
07-04-2008, 10:14 PM
i just put it on the kick stand and used my car jack on the little tabs on the underneath back of the frame... there's a pic somwhere on the board that show this tab...

Good idea with the car jack. While on the recent road trip we used a 9.5 inch piece of 2x2 under the frame tabs to get the rear wheel up for lubing the chain. Did it as follows:

#1 wrap velcro around front brake lever.
#2 lean bike over and place 2x2 in place.
#3 From right side of bike, kneel down and wrap strong elastic band around kill switch on side stand.
#4 Start bike and put in 1st gear. Ease out clutch and spray chain to your heart's content.
#5 Reverse procedure and you are done.