GZ 250 Forums

GZ 250 Forums (http://www.gz250bike.com/forum/index.php)
-   Troubleshooting (http://www.gz250bike.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=19)
-   -   My 99 Gz250 (http://www.gz250bike.com/forum/showthread.php?t=7983)

Roadking 09-26-2017 01:16 PM

My 99 Gz250

Hey guys/gals,
Picked up a 1999 Gz250 for $800. No spark.
Read most of what I could find on here about that problem.
I charged the battery for a few days with trickle charger.
sprayed the ignition switch with contact cleaner,ran the switch
back n fourth a bunch and still not starting.
Am I reading correct and new ignition switches are about $180-225?
Can I install a resistor in the wires after they exit the switch?
Should I bypass the side stand switch with a plain jumper?

I knew the PO and He took good care of the bike. It ran good before He said the spark quit.

I'm just getting started on this project.

Just how picky is this mo-chine about having to have a hot battery?

Thanks
RK

Roadking 09-29-2017 08:03 AM

Ok ordered a new OEM ignition switch from Suzuki ($140, along with an oil filter and gasket and crush washer for the drain plug. Are the turn signal bulbs replaceable with 12v auto bulbs? like 1156/57's? Dual and single filament? Or are they a special wattage?

Razorburns 09-29-2017 08:59 AM

I don't know about most of your questions..... but I can say yes to the bulbs question. Those are the right ones.

Roadking 09-29-2017 11:45 AM

Thanks!

derbydave 09-29-2017 12:04 PM

2 Attachment(s)
Does the starter turn the motor over when you press the start button? If all of the lockouts are functioning properly (side stand, run switch, ignition switch, clutch switch) the motor shouldn't turn over if one is out of position. If the motor turns over but you have no spark you need check the pick up coil, ignition coil and igniter box. See the attached flow chart for troubleshooting the ignition. I would first check the ignition coil resistance on the primary and secondary sides.