GZ 250 Forums

GZ 250 Forums (http://www.gz250bike.com/forum/index.php)
-   Troubleshooting (http://www.gz250bike.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=19)
-   -   Bike dies when throttle engaged (http://www.gz250bike.com/forum/showthread.php?t=7911)

justincan423 05-20-2017 04:12 PM

Bike dies when throttle engaged

So I recently bought a 2000 GZ and I'm not very knowledgeable in the motorcycle field. Since I bought it I've gotten the carb "cleaned out", new spark plug, new battery, drained the tank and filled with gas and a system cleaner. So the issue that I'm having is no matter how much fine tuning of the choke, throttle, mixture screw and everything I cannot get it to go. It starts up and idles decent but when I give it throttle it just dies out. Again I'm kind of new to motorcycles so I'm not fully knowledgeable with them I mainly work on cars so any information will be helpful. Thanks in advanced, and if you need any more info from me about the bike please let me know! https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/201...fe9e90880e.jpg

blaine 05-20-2017 04:29 PM

Almost sounds like a vacuum leak.....Have you checked around boots & petcock hose for leaks?.........Other thing that comes is a torn or not seated in grove diaphram.

justincan423 05-20-2017 08:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by blaine (Post 87694)
Almost sounds like a vacuum leak.....Have you checked around boots & petcock hose for leaks?.........Other thing that comes is a torn or not seated in grove diaphram.

No leaks in petcock hose or anything and by grove diaphragm do you mean where the carb goes into the block? Both sides are good no tips or anything in air box boot either. Is there a way to do a vacuum leak test like you can on a car?

spldart 05-20-2017 08:56 PM

I'm starting to get the same problem with my 2000. As if I needed more problems.
My start regime is this:
full choke and crank.
modulate the choke for the first 10 to 30 seconds then settle it into an idle.