Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   GZ 250 Forums > General > Member Introductions

Old 10-06-2011, 12:27 AM   #1
Red Mosquito7

Hello from South Texas

Hello,

I just bought a 2002 Suzuki GZ250 yesterday and I love it. I passed the MSF course a few months ago and finally saved up enough cash to buy a bike. I went with the GZ250 for three reasons: 1. Cheap! 2. Same bike I rode on the MSF course so it has a special place in my heart 3. Figured it would be a good place to start since I'm new to motorcycles.

I've only ridden about 20 miles so far because of work and I'm not comfortable taking it out on the highway but it's been a blast so far. Hell, I'm still getting the hang of downshifting when slowing down (felt the rear tire skid a little once). I can't wait for the weekend so I can get up early and get some riding time to practice more.

I stumbled onto this site when I was searching for a place to find a panel that covers the battery. It was missing when I bought it. I found a thread on here discussing just that topic, but ended up finding many other interesting topics. Well, I look forward to meeting some fellow GZ250 owners! Peace.

Login or Register to Remove Ads
Old 10-06-2011, 12:44 AM   #2
blaine

Re: Hello from South Texas

Welcome to the family.Lots to learn from this site and lots of people willing to help.Take your time don't get in a rush.If you haven't already,invest in some gear,jacket,boots & gloves.Any questions,just ask.Ride safe.
:cool:

Old 10-06-2011, 07:23 AM   #3
Gz Rider

Old 10-06-2011, 07:57 AM   #4
blaine

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gz Rider

I never took a motorcycle course myself. Maybe I down shift wrong. When I down shift, I hold the clutch in and shift down as my speed decreases, never re engaging the clutch so I would not have an opportunity to skid (unless the clutch cable breaks, which happens). To anyone: am I doing it wrong?