Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   GZ 250 Forums > General Motorcycle-Related > Riding Safety & Tips

Old 10-15-2008, 07:16 PM   #1
Graydog

Get off the bike!

Was going to run some errands on the little thumper today. Within a few blocks of the house I knew I didn’t need to be on the bike.

I’ve intended to ask this for a long time now. Anyone else have these “get off the bike days”?

Here are what mine are like.

1. Things just don’t feel right (very general…but enough said. I think everyone here has had that feeling.).
2. “Stop first then turn situations” are done as if I have only been riding for 6 months. Even though the speed is slow I have to make corrections during the turn. ie. The turn is not smooth natural feeling.
3. Curves. Uncomfortable feeling as if I’m in my first year of riding. Readjustments in speed and lean made during the curve that I don’t normally do on THAT curve or any other.
4. Stops. I have to think about it. My “feet on pavement” pattern is different from normal. Doesn’t feel right. Tend to use the hand brake more than usual at last second. May even twist front wheel and lean forward to rebalance bike.
5. “Long run”. During long runs between stops I think something is wrong with the way the bike feels. I tend to try to find things wrong with the bike.

Now in my case this could just be Alzheimer’s disease. (Or for those of you older than me “old timer’s disease.) But actually it has been present for me since I was in my 40s.

Does any one else experience this? Do you listen to “the inner voice”?

I have blamed this on inner ear infections, sinus infections, etc. But in reality when I have these medical conditions I stay off the bike anyway.

I am talking about days when you feel great. Yet nothing goes right on the bike and you know you should get off the bike.

Login or Register to Remove Ads
Old 10-15-2008, 07:33 PM   #2
alanmcorcoran

Re: Get off the bike!