Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   GZ 250 Forums > General Motorcycle-Related > Riding Safety & Tips

Old 02-09-2012, 05:13 PM   #1
minieggroll

Front vs Rear Braking

Hello,

I just started riding and was wondering under what circumstances to use front vs rear brake. Should I always apply both when braking or use one for slower braking? My MSF course isn't until April 21st so I've gotta learn on my own at this point :/

Thanks for the help!

Login or Register to Remove Ads
Old 02-09-2012, 05:44 PM   #2
Gz Rider

Re: Front vs Rear Braking

Old 02-09-2012, 07:32 PM   #3
blaine

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gz Rider

Braking is a tricky issue. Everything I've seen says to apply both evenly. Some people like to use only the front brake because if it wears out, it's easier to repair yourself. One problem (of many) that arises with that strategy is you might forget to use your rear brake in an emergency. Also, locking up (skidding) the front wheel is much more likely to cause a loss of control (crash) than the rear. Really though, you don't want to lock up either wheel and using both evenly is part of a strategy to avoid that.
When you are going slow & maneuvering,be sure to use you rear brake ONLY.If you use your front brake in this situation you will dump the bike.Also using the rear brake lightly helps to stabilize & control the bike when moving slowly.
:cool:

Old 02-09-2012, 07:49 PM   #4
Water Warrior 2

That is great advice minieggroll. Get reading and you will soon know all about the brakes and when to use them. By the time you take the course you will have a much better understanding of bike control and what not to do in some situations. The GZ is a very forgiving bike but it does need some cooperation from the rider. Learn your part of the equation, the GZ knows it's part already.
Old 02-09-2012, 08:18 PM   #5
mole2