Go Back   GZ 250 Forums > GZ250-Specific > Instructional Articles

Old 12-29-2011, 04:56 PM   #1
gzlocal

Fixed leaking petcock; Don't buy a new one yet!

*Mods, I'm not sure whether to put this in the How-To or Troubleshooting section. Move where appropriate if needed!*

Hi guys! Being a graduate student I have not been able to contribute as much as I'd like to, but I had finally been presented with the first issue my bike ever had: a leaking fuel petcock. This is a common issue on the GZ, and can present itself many different ways:

1. Leaking underneath the tank at mating surface gasket to petcock.
2. Leaking out the petcock fuel selector switch.
3. Not stopping flow without vacuum and overflowing carburetor due to malfunctioning or misadjusted needle seat.

I was firstly presented with the number two scenario. I searched on here and saw that some people saw that when dirt had worked its way into the switch and caused some minor leaking. When I disassembled my petcock, I did not see any dirt, but it stopped the leak, so I didn't think any more of it.

Well, the time came to adjust my valves, so I removed the tank, and was met with a nice, nearly unrestricted flow of gasoline out of the petcock, even though the engine was not running and it was not set to prime. Luckily, my needle seat was still working so I didn't have a puddle of gasoline waiting for me in the morning. So I figured maybe some dirt had gotten between the o-ring on the vacuum actuated valve and it wasn't closing all the way. Well, when I disassembled the petcock for a second time, I saw how bad a shape the o-ring was really in. It was no longer round, and looked to be mashed at a weird angle on the edge.