Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   GZ 250 Forums > General Motorcycle-Related > Ride Reports & Meets

Old 08-23-2008, 11:51 AM   #1
maryes7

question about freeway riding

I have been riding my GZ250 for 4 months. I would like to try the freeway but I wonder how it will handle the wind and if I will have enough power. Would like some advice from all of you expert 250 riders. Thank you

Login or Register to Remove Ads
Old 08-23-2008, 12:06 PM   #2
music man

I don't know about anyone else's experience, but I can tell you from mine that the little GZ gets pushed around pretty good by the wind if you are making a good speed, but it is usually not unbearable. I personally won't ride on any freeway unless I am just gonna go down an exit or two and get back off, the GZ just ain't got the juice for it. Not saying it won't go 70 but when it does it is tapped out, and being tapped out is not good in any vehicle at any speed. You lose alot of manueverability and you don't have any throttle left to get you out of trouble, But there are alot of people who ride theirs on the freeway, Just not me.

Later
Old 08-23-2008, 12:36 PM   #3
maryes7

Thank you for the great advice.. Do you have another bike for the freeway or just use your bike for around town. I have a few places that I would love to go to that require freeway riding for about 30 min. I feel I would have to move up to a bigger bike to do that. I love my GZ250 and use it mostly to do errands around town and also to get back and forth to work which is just around the corner. Thank again, for your help.....

Old 08-23-2008, 01:13 PM   #4
alanmcorcoran

This has been discussed to death...

...as a subset of, "Is a GZ fast/powerful/heavy enough?"