Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   GZ 250 Forums > GZ250-Specific > General Maintenance

Old 08-04-2008, 06:33 AM   #1
BenzillaScrapping

Send a message via MSN to BenzillaScrapping
Adjusting the shifter lever

OK, so I'm totally new to riding (except being a passenger), owning a bike (my first), and vehicle maintenance (outside of when i was a kid helping my dad many moons ago) so you'll have to forgive me for asking really dumb questions, but......I noticed someone said it is possible to adjust the shifter and/or foot peg to make it more comfortable, but i've checked my manual and it shows nothing....how is this actually done? I have a 2008. I actually accidentally ditched it :oops: over the weekend, and short of some scratches and dirt, the big thing is now the shifter is too far away and I had to ride it home upshifting with the back of my boot, which is a bit weird. I don't really want to take it to a shop (although if that is what i need to do i will) as i really want to learn how to take care of it myself. any thoughts and suggestions? thanks kindly in advance.... elle

Login or Register to Remove Ads
Old 08-04-2008, 08:12 AM   #2
jonathan180iq
Super Moderator

With the back of your boot? How messed up is this thing? Can you post us a photo.

As far as the actualy adjustment goes, there is a detailed post on here about how to do it. Make sure to search the older posts. They usually contain the answer to a majority of new-rider questions. I never needed to adjust the shifter and, to be honest, haven't even taken the time to bend down and look at it.
Old 08-04-2008, 09:53 AM   #3
Easy Rider

Re: Adjusting the shifter lever

Quote:
Originally Posted by BenzillaScrapping
I don't really want to take it to a shop (although if that is what i need to do i will) as i really want to learn how to take care of it myself. any thoughts and suggestions? thanks kindly in advance.... elle
A worthwhile goal but safety first!