Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   GZ 250 Forums > GZ250-Specific > General Maintenance

Old 05-01-2009, 10:01 PM   #1
cfsmith

6,000 miles checkup - go to a dealer or do it myself?

Guys and gals,

I need some help on this one. Time has come to get a 6k mile checkup. Now, I figure I've got two choices - either take it to the dealership, spend about $120 and have 'em do god only knows what... or I could give it a try.

Now I'm not a mechanic, but have a couple of uncles that are very mechanically inclined (one's chief mechanic on some oil rig, another's just a DIY on small engines). They've offered to help me... but I'm not sure what's required on the checkup (i.e. I'm unsure exactly what the tech manual is asking to do). In particular I'm worried about the tightening of the frame and how complicated that may be.

So my question to all you DIYers... have you ever done something like this before? Is it difficult? Should I just bite the bullet and turn the bike in to the dealer mechanics? I really don't know.

-c

Login or Register to Remove Ads
Old 05-02-2009, 02:10 AM   #2
5th_bike

Re: 6,000 miles checkup - go to a dealer or do it myself?

Frame tightening is not hard, you just need a torque wrench and a metric wrench set. There is a nice table in the manual with all required torques. I did it last weekend, a few things I couldn't check so I just checked for tightness. And in my book the spokes are good as long as they have a clear 'plunk' to them when you hit them with something.

Oiling the cables is a little tricky, not the oiling itself, but to get to the cables. You will have to unscrew something at the handle end of each cable. For the clutch cable it's handy to undo it from the handle, then you can just drip the oil into the cable. After that, setting the correct play in the cables is easy enough too.

Oil change, piece of cake. Cleaning & oiling the chain - haven't you done it already ?