Go Back   GZ 250 Forums > GZ250-Specific > Instructional Articles

Old 03-26-2011, 03:30 PM   #1
ArdaBey

How-to: Install MC Engine Guard / Crash Bar

Just installed one myself as my first project on the bike.

I took some pics during the process to make it easy to identify where the bolts go, etc.

I am a newbie, so it took me a while to figure things out, etc. It took a little more than an hour for me to install it. May take 15-30 mins for people more experienced with tools/bikes.

Need to go to a Chicago Fire game now, but will update the post later this weekend with pics, scanned installation instructions that came with engine guard, etc.

UPDATE - Instructions and installation pics attached below. Instructions that come with the engine guard are pretty intuitive, hopefully pics below will help as well.

[attachment=1:2jzet11i]MC_Engine_Guard_Instructions.pdf[/attachment:2jzet11i]

Before horn is removed (i.e. stock)

After horn is removed

At this point, you can use the same bolt that was holding the horn in place, and put the top piece of the engine guard in place, i.e. same place that the horn was at before. Last step of the installation, you'll install the horn on the new location on the engine guard, pretty close to where it was before.

Using 2 size 12 wrenches to take out the stock lower motor mount bolt.

Another angle that shows the location of lower motor mount bolt. Notice that we dont need to do anything with those similar bolts on the upper side of the engine
\

This is how it looks when the lower bolt is taken out.

AND this is the "Oh sh*t" moment. After placing the lower part of the engine guard and putting in the longer bolt that comes with the engine guard, aligning the spacer, etc. it gets a little crunched in there. Regardless, you can use a size 12 and size 13 wrench to tighten everything up. After 15 minutes of dealing with that, and assuming I was done, realized that I forgot the little washer.