Go Back   GZ 250 Forums > General Motorcycle-Related > Beginners

Old 04-06-2012, 11:24 PM   #1
cj250

Are these bikes hard to find?

I am a beginner rider, and I decided I wanted a GZ250. I saw one on craigslist in near me (in central texas) for $1800, but the guy sold it out from under me! It was a 2007, it was so perfect for me and I was so upset when I didn't get it. Now I have been searching the web and all over craigslist for a few weeks and I can't find one! I want a used newer model with just the plain "s" on the tank, and the color black. Why are these so hard to find?!!! I also don't want to pay over $2,000. I am seeing older 2000 models priced at $2500!! Is it just a bad time of year or what?

Login or Register to Remove Ads
Old 04-06-2012, 11:35 PM   #2
Skunkhome

Re: Are these bikes hard to find?

A 12 year old gz250 for more than $1500 IMO is just plain nuts regardless of mileage. They are not scarce here but maybe in Texas and apparently in AZ. This is probably not the best time for buyers as it is prime riding season.
Old 04-07-2012, 01:34 AM   #3
Water Warrior 2

Be patient Grasshopper. One will turn up when you least expect it. There will be some one trading up to a larger bike in the near future.

Old 04-07-2012, 10:48 AM   #4
cj250

Thanks. Skunkhome, I've seen multiple 2002's to 2004's for over $2000! It's crazy. Do yall have any advice on finding a bike, besides searching the web and craigslist? I've also tried local newspaper classified ads, but not finding much of anything there. I really didn't want to pay over $1800 for a bike. I've seen a few good looking ones at dealerships, but they are usually priced around $2500 at the least.

Thanks, I'm trying to be patient, but I want to get one this year! I gotta find one!
Old 04-07-2012, 01:39 PM   #5
Pelagic

cj250

Think about borrowing a trailer and getting one from out of state. The GZ250 members around you can then help you locate and examine a bike.

Old 04-07-2012, 04:44 PM   #6
cj250