Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   GZ 250 Forums > GZ250-Specific > Troubleshooting

Old 09-18-2008, 03:41 PM   #1
hot_lava

help!

Hi all- new to this forum, but really glad I found it!

I just started riding last October and have had my little GZ250 since May.

I can't seem to get the seat off though when I put the key in...what's the trick??

Also maybe some of you more technical people can answer me this: when I first got the bike it always had to have the choke on when riding... and when it turned off the exhaust would make a loud popping noise. I got the carb cleaned and now it only needs the choke at first when it's been sitting for a bit (I don't ride it everyday)... but sometimes it still makes the popping noise when I turn it off. Is this bad? Is there some more work I should get done on it? It's been sitting a lot in it's lifetime...when I got it it only had about 2000 miles.

Any advice would be appreciated...especially about getting the seat off!! I turn the key and all but can't get the darn thing off!!

Login or Register to Remove Ads
Old 09-18-2008, 04:43 PM   #2
jonathan180iq
Super Moderator

Re: help!

That popping sound when the bike turns off either carbon build-up "pinging" as it cools, or you're carb is just a little bit out of adjustment and some unburned gas vapors are saying their last "fair-well" before heading off into oblivion. All bikes are not equal and it's possible that the factory setting on the carb is just not ideal for your location. As long as the bike runs fine through the gears and doesn't hesitate or stutter or anything, it should be fine. Carb adjustments aren't something for the novice to undertake. Run some carb cleaner through the gas tank every couple of months and ride a little more often. It should clean things up.