Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   GZ 250 Forums > General Motorcycle-Related > Other Models/Manufacturers

Old 10-10-2010, 05:58 PM   #1
alazar14

Road trip San Diego CA to Albuquerque NM

Hey guys its been a while.

Just wanted to get some tips on what you guys would carry for a road trip from San Diego CA to Albuquerque New Mexico.

I plan this trip to take up a total of 7-8 days.

My goals for the trip are

#1 Check out Arizona State University and its Ph.D in communication's program. (I am currently a Communication Undergrad at San Diego State)

#2 Check out The University of New Mexico and their communication M.A and Ph.D programs.

I plan to take the road trip in the end of May next year.

I plan to go on my Virago 250 Motorcycle

I know the basics I need to take care of...brakes check, oil change, chain checks, spark plugs, clutch check, basically a general check out of every component on the bike

before I head out. I am however wondering what else would you guys suggest I take.

I am planning to take 2 saddlebags one with 2 changes of clothes and basic needs things like water, toothpaste, toothbrush, toilet paper and so on. The second bag with

my bike's tool kit, and just in case some rain gear. (And Sun screen...) (Also I probably need to carry a backup gas container because the Viragos 1.8gallon and 0.7 reserve

just won't cut the long desert roads.

I also plan to carry a small tank bag with some basics such as water bottles, and some canned food to stop and eat lunch on the way across the deserts.

The rout I would be taking is this San Diego-Yuma ( 8 East until I reach the 10 north near Phoenix) (Stop for the night) (Wake up early next morning around 4am, head

out around 5am and try to reach Phoenix before mid day) (10 North from 8 East to Phoenix) Spend the day In Phoenix and wake up next day to check out Arizona State,

talk to the professors there especially the communication department).