Go Back   GZ 250 Forums > General Motorcycle-Related > Other Models/Manufacturers

Old 12-29-2015, 11:18 PM   #1
burkbuilds

Bought a new bike, well if 1986 can be considered new. :)

I've been off the forum and off the bike for a while now. Started riding again about 8 years

ago on a GZ250, great bike, loved it and it met my needs for a while until I needed to do a lot

of Interstate traveling. So, I bought a Vulcan 500, another great bike, and I put 44,000 miles

on it in two years. Absolutely loved that bike. Along the way I also had a Vulcan 750 and a

Vulcan 900, which for a while I converted into a trike but eventually put back to two wheels.

Then I graduated from college (at the ripe old age of 49) and got a job in another city,

needed to move, needed money, sold the bike. That's been almost 2 years ago and I really

missed riding. Late this last Summer I walked into a showroom up in the big city of

Rossville, Georgia and saw a bike I'd never seen before. Fell in love with it, made an offer

on it and now I'm the happy owner of a 1986 Kawasaki ZL600 Eliminator. It was in good

general condition and ran great for a few hundred miles but then it started having some

"issues". Well, late in September I was having knee surgery so I just put the bike up in the

shop and let it sit while I delt with other pressing issues. Got back to work in November

and the first week in December I won a drawing at work our company calls "Fix my ride",

where they pay to get your "ride" in safe running condition (within some monetary limits).

So, the next day I had the ZL600 at the local Kawasaki dealer. They found several issues,

a rusting gas tank (inside), which fouled all 4 carbs, the coil was bad, the stator was bad,

a previous leaky battery had corroded part of the electrical wiring block, etc. The bad

news, those parts are no longer available for my bike, so aftermarket here we go. The