Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   GZ 250 Forums > General Motorcycle-Related > Beginners

Old 08-17-2008, 11:14 PM   #1
alanmcorcoran

California Motorcycle Safety Foundation Course

If anyone is interested, I just completed the California MSF BasicRider Course at OCMT in Anaheim. If anybody is contemplating taking this and wants a preview/review, fire away.

FYI, I do not recommend this course for experienced riders. It is most appropriate for complete noobs, and it's probably a less intimidating way to pass the CA riding test, but the first day of it is spent on material you can easily read in David Hough's book and half of the second day is looking at, or duck walking the bike. By the third day, you get into some useful exercises, but, given the class size and the typical skill distribution (12 riders, and at least two will be bike droppers) a very large percentage of your time is spent sitting around waiting.

There's a figure eight portion of the test that I found to be a bit challenging - I was surprised how well some of the complete novices did on it after only one day of riding.

-Alan.

Login or Register to Remove Ads
Old 08-18-2008, 12:04 AM   #2
patrick_777

Send a message via ICQ to patrick_777 Send a message via AIM to patrick_777 Send a message via Yahoo to patrick_777
To be honest, that is exactly what I've heard about every other MSF-B course out there (ie anywhere, not just in CA). From my understanding and from hearing others' experiences, if you've been riding for >3 months and have worked hours in the parking lot using the easily-found lot exercises, then you're going to be bored as ever in the class.

For the record, I have yet to take a class and actually, probably won't. It supposedly saves on insurance, but the most I've ever been quoted is around $2 annual savings. And if the $2 a year is that important to you, then you probably don't need to be owning a motorcycle.
Old 08-18-2008, 12:06 AM   #3
patrick_777