Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   GZ 250 Forums > GZ250-Specific > Troubleshooting

Old 06-04-2008, 10:15 PM   #1
9mmPreacher

Muffler Backfire

Anyway to prevent this from happening? Every time I take a ride when I cut off the engine my muffler backfires and I am not sure what I am doing wrong for this to happen, any suggestions? Yes I am a noob.
Thanks,
Preacher

Login or Register to Remove Ads
Old 06-05-2008, 08:20 AM   #2
Easy Rider

Re: Muffler Backfire

Quote:
Originally Posted by 9mmPreacher
Anyway to prevent this from happening? Every time I take a ride when I cut off the engine my muffler backfires and I am not sure what I am doing wrong for this to happen, any suggestions? Yes I am a noob.
YOU aren't doing anything wrong. This is NOT a common complaint with a GZ250 (assume that's the bike you are talking about). Could be an exhaust leak or dirty carb.

Any known modifications to the bike?

If you are mechanically inclined we can talk further; if not, try some carb cleaner and if that doesn't help, it's off to the shop.
I suspect the repair will be relatively easy and cheap.
Old 06-05-2008, 08:32 AM   #3
jonathan180iq
Super Moderator

There is a mixture problem somewhere and you are getting unburned gas fumes exploding in the exhaust.

It's actually called afterfire, but how cares?

Along with what Easy said, make sure that you air filter isn't clogged with a leaf or something.

Old 06-05-2008, 09:26 PM   #4
9mmPreacher

There are no mods to the bike that I know of, I am also not very mechanically inclined but I am very willing to learn if it's something I could figure out.

If I got carb cleaner how would I use it? Teach me, I am ready to learn.
Old 06-05-2008, 09:57 PM   #5
jonathan180iq
Super Moderator

Pour-in carb cleaner just gets dumped into your tank and you ride the tank out and hopefully the stuff that you bought will clean out the problem.