Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   GZ 250 Forums > GZ250-Specific > General GZ250 Talk

Old 09-24-2020, 08:02 PM   #1
GZgirl

Has anyone taken their GZ250 in the mountains?

Hello,

I'm a very new noob rider. I'm in the SoCal area so there are lots of mountains I'd love to ride up for camping or views. My question is has anyone here done it? Is it safe, can the bike handle steep climbs? I'm still a little sketched out about even hitting the highways since I'd have to go nearly full throttle to keep up. Is this something I should give up on with this bike or is it safe to do so?

Thank you!

Login or Register to Remove Ads
Old 09-24-2020, 09:28 PM   #2
Vegas Street Rider

Welcome to the forum GZgirl. I don't want to rain on your parade, but the GZ is too underpowered to handle hill climbs. It does best at two lane cruiser speeds of 55 to 65mph on relatively level roads. If you do some elevation changes, you will find yourself downshifting to 4th and even 3rd gear and their correlating speeds (35 to 45mph).

If this is your first bike, it is the perfect starter to learn the skills necessary to be a safe rider, but if you want the kind of riding I think you want, you will need to upgrade at some point in time to a more powerful machine.

Safe riding.
Old 10-08-2020, 01:44 PM   #3
Fatch

Welcome! I'd say you'd be fine in places like, say Ortega highway. Not too steep of inclines (for the most part) and a lot of lower speed corners, but if you hit any higher uphill portions, you'll be slowing down. But with a GZ, you want to slow down for the corners anyways because your max lean angle is a heck of a lot higher than you expect because of how low the pegs are. Just remember to pull off if people pile up behind you and let them by.

I'm in the flattest of the flat states now, but when I lived around some more interesting terrain, most of those roads were the best between 30-45mph anyways.