Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   GZ 250 Forums > General > Member Introductions

Old 04-20-2008, 09:21 PM   #1
yakobo75

Newb in WI

Thinking about picking one up tomorrow...They have a 2002 with 6k on it but I think I'll probably go new...I'm a stockier guy (5'9 215) and the sales dudes keep trying to make me buy a bigger bike but I've never touched a bike in my whole life and I'm simply buying it for a short commute to work to save gas...and occasionally city rides on the weekend...I don't need to impress anyone; as long as this bike will do 25-40 for city driving, I"m all good...rode my friends 250 Rebel today and I imagine the GZ will be the same...What do you guys think? Comparable to the Rebel? Nice to meet all you

Login or Register to Remove Ads
Old 04-21-2008, 12:11 AM   #2
rayzuki

I'm new to riding too but I am 5'11 200 and fit comfortable on the bike. Haven't gone on a long ride yet but have no issues. Im sure some on the other guys will chime in here.
Old 04-21-2008, 02:18 AM   #3
yakobo75

Kinda pondering a S40 now too..only cost a little more but I'm a big chicken and the fact that it's a 650 scares me...

Old 04-21-2008, 09:46 AM   #4
Easy Rider

Quote:
Originally Posted by yakobo75
Kinda pondering a S40 now too..only cost a little more but I'm a big chicken and the fact that it's a 650 scares me...
Size and weight wise you should be able to handle the S40 but watch that riding position.
Just seems to me like there is something basically wrong about a cruiser with drag bars.
Unless you have LONG arms, it will give you a little more forward lean.
If they won't let you ride one, at least sit on it for more than a few seconds.

Given your requirements, I think you are right in looking at the 250s.
I think the twins wring out a little more power, probably with higher revs........but the GZ just LOOKS bigger than it is !!
Old 04-21-2008, 04:11 PM   #5
CMS

New Bike