Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   GZ 250 Forums > General Motorcycle-Related > Riding Safety & Tips

Old 10-15-2008, 03:10 AM   #1
rexolio

Send a message via AIM to rexolio Send a message via Yahoo to rexolio
Child Riding Belt...

Anyone have any thoughts on this or have you tryed it... http://www.riderzragz.com/v2/index.php? ... 9b3c04397c

Just curious...
Owner of 2006 GZ250 since June 2008 - Yup, I'm a newbie!

Login or Register to Remove Ads
Old 10-15-2008, 05:21 AM   #2
alanmcorcoran

Re: Child Riding Belt...

Had a discussion recently about a similar device with a friend with three small kids. (Mine are grown.) Bottom line, I don't think that small kids belong on the back of a motorcycle. I'm aware that it's unlikely anyone else gives a crap what I think about it, but you did ask for my thoughts.
Old 10-15-2008, 06:11 AM   #3
patrick_777

Send a message via ICQ to patrick_777 Send a message via AIM to patrick_777 Send a message via Yahoo to patrick_777

I agree with Alan here. Small children and motorcycles don't usually mix very well. Being an effective passenger demands a level of knowledge about the physics of bikes that most children are unable to achieve. A lot of people are incapable of reacting quickly enough to a child's actions while on firm footing in their own homes, much less with the driver's attention being directed at controlling a motorcycle and avoiding the dangers of traffic.

Quote:
Originally Posted by alanmcorcoran
I'm aware that it's unlikely anyone else gives a crap what I think about it, but you did ask for my thoughts.
Ditto.

Old 10-15-2008, 07:17 AM   #4
Dupo

Send a message via MSN to Dupo

I dont know, ive always been up in the air about kids on bikes. I've taken my kids on my bike several times. Youngest i think any of them were was 6. I told them what to do and they did it well enough in a parking lot that i took them to school a few times.