Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   GZ 250 Forums > GZ250-Specific > General GZ250 Talk

Old 11-10-2006, 07:54 PM   #1
Badbob

LED Lighting

Is anyone messing around with LED lighting on their GZ250?

Anyone interested in this sort of thing?

I want to add some additional lighting to my bikes as well as replace as many of the lights as I can with LEDs. They are much more durable, use very little power, and can be much much brighter than conventional turn signals and running lights. I know there are lots of companies out there that will sell me very expensive solutions for this like $95 brake light replacement. This is not what I'm looking for.

I was an electronics technician for 20 years. I can read schematics, use test equipment, and do precision soldering. I also have tools I know how to use. Making my own LED lighting or modifying something to work is not out of the question.

For example, I was in WalMart today and saw a small LED light that was designed to plug into a cigarette lighter that could easily be modified to work on a bike. The only real problem I saw with it was that it was bright yellow.

If any of you have done anything like this or knows of someone else who has rolled their own I would sure like to know about it.

If you have any ideas post them here and lets discuss it.

Login or Register to Remove Ads
Old 11-10-2006, 09:32 PM   #2
Dupo

Send a message via MSN to Dupo
Only thing i did on the GZ was add some red LEDs under the chrome covers on the engine to light up the heads. I was going to get some LED bulb replacements off ebay (which really arent that much if you can find the guys who sell cheap). I want to replace the signals on my shadow with LEDs and will probably take that route (replacement LED bulbs).

Photography Gallery *updated url - new site!
Motorcycle Blog
Facebook
Old 11-11-2006, 06:37 AM   #3
Bill