Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   GZ 250 Forums > General > Member Introductions

Old 07-09-2009, 11:03 PM   #1
rbsteve

Yet another Canadian Motorcycle Newbie

Hi Everyone,

I have been browsing your forums for the past week, since I just bought myself a used 2000 GZ 250. I have a few minor repairs to perform, and in my experience with cars, you can't beat a good online forum for all the tips and tricks you need.

So a little about myself. I am new to motorcycling this year. It is something I have always wanted to get into, and now that I am 25, I think I can do it responsibly without killing myself! I really don't like those crotch rocket sports bikes, and I am not in my 40s in the midst of a mid-life crisis, so a harley or bmw is out of the question lol. So that left me with cruisers. As soon as I sat on a gz 250, I was surprised how easy to manage and comfortable it was, especially since I am 6'4". With only a couple of minor adjustments to the pedals and handlebars, it is like sitting on a lazy boy. Also Quebec has ridiculous rules about bikes 400cc and up... just to pay the plates for a year can cost over 1000$. Smaller engine the better up here.

So expect to see a few more posts by me within the coming days as I attempt to change my front brake pads, gear shift lever, foot pegs and brake light switch. They seem like fairly simple jobs, and I have plenty of experience working on cars, but you never know when you can get stuck.

One question I do have, do these bikes take regular gas (87 octane) or super (91-94)? I ask because I don't have the owners manual, and there is no sticker on the tank.

Thanks

-Steve

Login or Register to Remove Ads
Old 07-10-2009, 02:08 AM   #2
Water Warrior 2

Re: Yet another Canadian Motorcycle Newbie