Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   GZ 250 Forums > GZ250-Specific > General Maintenance

Old 10-06-2009, 03:56 PM   #1
RavenousPirate

Front brake pad troubles...

Heya guys, I'm trying to replace the front brake pads on my bike as the old ones have worn down to pretty much nothing. I've run into a problem while putting the new pads into place, however...

There doesn't seem to be enough room for them. An earlier topic on this forum suggests that I use the old pads and a screwdriver or pliers to pry them apart and push the piston back so that I have room for the new pads, but I don't know about that. As an alternative, couldn't I drain the brake fluid to make the piston easier to push out of the way, and then replace the fluid once I'm finished?

Sorry if this is a dumb question, I'm pretty new to bike maintenance and such. Thanks.

Login or Register to Remove Ads
Old 10-06-2009, 04:14 PM   #2
Water Warrior 2

Re: Front brake pad troubles...

Not a good idea to drain brake fluid. Use some force and push back the brake parts to allow more clearance. Yup, it is a pain in the butt but the best way to proceed.
Old 10-06-2009, 04:34 PM   #3
dannylightning

Quote:
Originally Posted by RavenousPirate
Heya guys, I'm trying to replace the front brake pads on my bike as the old ones have worn down to pretty much nothing. I've run into a problem while putting the new pads into place, however...

There doesn't seem to be enough room for them. An earlier topic on this forum suggests that I use the old pads and a screwdriver or pliers to pry them apart and push the piston back so that I have room for the new pads, but I don't know about that. As an alternative, couldn't I drain the brake fluid to make the piston easier to push out of the way, and then replace the fluid once I'm finished?

Sorry if this is a dumb question, I'm pretty new to bike maintenance and such. Thanks.