Register Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Go Back   GZ 250 Forums > General > Member Introductions

Old 04-22-2011, 09:39 AM   #1
DJK

New guy with a question

I just finished my BRC class last Sunday and used a GZ250, which I really liked and I am planning on buying one. I am a 56 year old male total newbie.
I am going to look at a 2008 model later today that has about 1800 miles on it. My concern is that it has hardly been used in the last year, if at all. He was up front about that. What kinds of things should I watch for or plan for with a motorcycle in this situation? He says it's been "serviced" and is ready to ride which doesn't tell me much, especially being a rookie.
I'm really excited about continuing my learning to ride properly and safely. I appreciate any input, ideas and help you can give me.

Dan

Login or Register to Remove Ads
Old 04-22-2011, 10:15 AM   #2
jonathan180iq
Super Moderator

Re: New guy with a question

Check the condition of the tires. If they are starting to dry-crack, then that's something to talk him down on.

Make sure when you get there that he hasn't warmed it up before showing it to you. You want to see and hear it crank over from bone-cold. That's the best way to know what life will be like when you fire it up in the mornings.

These things are pretty simple.

Only other thing would be to make sure all the lights and blinkies work and that when you rev it up, the idle doesn't hang or bike doesn't spit and sputter.

If you're going to meet the guy in person, I trust with your age and experience you'll be able to sniff out a rat if there is one.

But, even if things aren't in 100% shape, these bikes are easy to fix and pretty reliable. For the right price, I would take it anyway.

EDIT: Give the bike a good walk-around too. Take a few minutes and think before you give him an answer. Just look it over like you know what you're doing
Old 04-22-2011, 10:29 AM   #3
blaine